The R K MacDonald Nursing Home Corporation and its facilities are under the management of a Board of Directors which consist of twelve members as follows: four members are appointed by the County Council of the Municipality of the County of Antigonish, four members are appointed by the Town Council of the Town of Antigonish, and four members are appointed by the Sisters of Saint Martha.

No employee of the Board can serve as director and each director serves for a term of three years. The executive committee consists of the Board Chair, a vice Chair, a secretary, a treasurer, and one additional member. With the exception of the Chair, these officers serve for one year and are selected for office at each annual meeting. In addition to the executive committee, there are two standing committees, Finance and Building and Grounds, as well as special committees, including Governance and Public Relations, that help conduct the affairs of the Board on an ongoing basis. These members too serve for a one year term and are selected at the annual meeting. 

General Staff Meeting Minutes

Board of Directors of the R.K. MacDonald Nursing Home

  • Gerald MacDonald (CSM Rep)
  • Councillor William Cormier (Town)
  • Councillor Diane Roberts (Town)
  • Councillor Gary Mattie  (County)
  • Camilla Benoit, Chair
  • Monica MacDonald (CSM Rep)
  • Councillor Sean Cameron (Town)
  • Duncan Chisholm
  • Councillor Shawn Brophy (County)
  • Fran Haley
  • Councillor Harris McNamara (County)
  • Sr. Catherine MacGillivray (CSM Rep)

Executive Committee

  • Camilla Benoit, President & Chair – R.K. MacDonald Nursing Home Corporation
  • Councillor Sean Cameron, Vice-Chair
  • Councillor Diane Roberts, Treasurer
  • Fran Haley, Secretary
  • Councillor Harris McNamara

Finance Committee

  • Councillor Diane Roberts Chair

Building & Grounds Committee

  • Councillor Shawn Brophy, Chair

Quality, Safety and Governance Committee

  • Monica MacDonald – Chair

Infrastructure Steering Committee

  • Fran Haley, Chair, Antigonish County Representative
  • Duncan Chisholm, Town of Antigonish Representative
If you’re looking to contact one of our board members, please contact our Administrative Assistant, Cathy Brouwer, by email or phone at 902-863-2578 ext. 233 for further information.